Wednesday, April 10, 2024
    HomeHealthCorona VirusIreland to ease travel restrictions with Cyprus, another 14 European countries

    Ireland to ease travel restrictions with Cyprus, another 14 European countries

    The Irish government on Tuesday said it was planning to drop a 14-day quarantine requirement for travellers arriving from a “green list” of 15 European countries, including South Cyprus.

    Ireland, which has one of the lower rates of infection in the European Union with around 5 cases per 100,000 people in the past 14 days, said it had decided to drop the restriction for people coming from countries with a similar or lower rate of infection.

    Arrivals into Ireland from South Cyprus, Malta, Finland, Norway, Italy, Hungary, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Slovakia, Greece, Greenland, Gibraltar, Monaco, and San Marino will not have to restrict their movements.

    Passengers from other countries, including the United States and neighbouring Britain, are asked to restrict their movements for 14 days.

    [penci_ads id=”penci_ads_1″]

    The list will be reviewed on a fortnightly basis, based on advice from officials including public health experts.

    As forSouth  Cyprus which has recently reviewed its categorisation of countries, category A includes low-risk countries such as Ireland, Austria,  Germany, Denmark, Greece,  Estonia,  Ireland,  Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Hungary,  Poland,  Slovakia,  Slovenia, Finland.

    Schengen Zone countries include Switzerland, Iceland, Lichtenstein, Norway and third countries Japan, Canada,  New Zealand,  South Korea.

    Nicosia has warned that the list may be modified at any moment, depending on the Coronavirus situation.

    - Advertisement -
    - Advertisment -

    Most Popular